Mathilde & Marcel

Marcel SCHMETZ was seven years old when the area where he lived was annexed to the German Reich.

He was forced to attend his primary school in the neighboring village where only German was allowed to be spoken. He and his family then lived for four years under perpetual restrictions and bad treatment until September 11th, 1944 when the Plateau of Herve, and especially Clermont, was liberated. His parent's farm had been transformed into an enormous bivouac for one hundred and ten soldiers of the American First Infantry Division. Three weeks of vacation for a little boy who had been deprived of everything for the previous four years. These three weeks changed little Marcel for life.

The G.I.s left in a hurry for the Battle of the Bulge, leaving all their personal items behind. No extra pounds ! While some families used the G.I.s items, Marcel kept them out of respect for and in memory of those who had left.

Becoming an adult, Marcel taught himself to restore jeeps, motorcyles and opened his own body shop.

In 1991, the meeting with Mathilde would change both of their lives ! Together they established a museum. Everything needed to be finished by 1994 for the 50th Anniversary of D-Day. It took them more than one year to change the body shop into a museum, the Remember Museum 39-45 . After attending the D-Day ceremonies in Normandy, seventeen American WWII Veterans drove to Clermont for the inauguration of the museum. That day started an everlasting friendship between the couple and these boys.

Since that day, lots of people come to visit the museum : people of the area, school children, tour operators , but mainly American Veterans and their families. Touched and impressed by the respect that surrounds all these items, more and more American WWII Veterans want to donate their personal belongings such as pictures and clothing.....confident that their Military Service would never be forgotten. There are also more and more names engraved on the wall outside of the museum or on the Red Ball Express truck that has been transformed into a movie theatre. Every visitor appreciates the very personal nature and sensibility of the way in which the museum has been set up. At this place there is only REMEMBRANCE ! As a proof there are several hundreds of Christmas letters which Marcel and Mathilde receive each year......and to which they need to answer !

M&M's

Mathilde & MarcelMarcel SCHMETZ a 7 ans lorsque la 2ème guerre mondiale éclate.

Son village est annexé au Reich. Ses études primaires, il les fera en Allemand. S'ensuivent alors quatre années de perpétuelles restrictions et d'incessantes vexations jusqu'au 11 septembre 1944, le pays de Herve et Clermont en particulier sont libérés. La ferme familiale est transformée en un grand bivouac où vont camper 110 soldats de la 1ère division américaine. Commencent alors trois semaines de vacances pour un gamin qui n'a connu que quatre années de privations. Ces trois semaines marqueront à vie le petit Marcel.

Lors de l'Offensive des Ardennes, les G.I.s quittent la ferme en abandonnant le superflus. Pas de kilos inutiles. Résultat, les Schmetz comme beaucoup déautres villageois se retrouvent avec une véritable caverne d'Ali Baba. On conserve tout, déabord par souci d'économie, ensuite par respect et en souvenirs de personnes devenues chères.

Devenu adulte, Marcel est passionné de mécanique et restaure des jeeps, des motos et d'autres véhicules avec ses copains.

En 1991 la rencontre de Mathilde va tout changer et les projets sont légion. De son hobby ils vont faire un musée. Tout doit être prêt pour le 50ème anniversaire du D-Day en 1994. Un an de travaux avec des passionnés pour transformer la vieille étable en musée, le "Remember Museum 39-45". 17 vétérans venus en Normandie font le trajet jusque Clermont pour l'inauguration. Ce jour va sceller une amitié privilégiée entre le couple et ces boys.

Depuis ce jour mémorable, ce fut un véritable défilé : la population des environs, les enfants des écoles, quelques "tours opérateurs", mais surtout des vétérans américains. Ceux-ci, frappés par le respect qui entoure tous ces objets, sont de plus en plus nombreux à vouloir apporter leur petite "brique" à l'édifice. Ils apportent donc des souvenirs personnels : des photos-souvenirs, des badges, etc., certains qu'ici leur mémoire sera fidèlement gardée. Leurs noms se multiplient, de plus en plus nombreux, dans la pierre du bâtiment ou sur la paroi d'un semi-remorque transformé en salle de projection. Plus réservés sont les visiteurs allemands. Mais eux aussi apprécient la profonde humanité qui a présidé à l'élaboration de ce musée. Car ici, il n'y a pas de jugement de valeur. Seulement le souvenir. REMEMBER ! La preuve : les dizaines, voire centaines de lettres de voeux et de reconnaissance que Marcel et Mathilde reçoivent chaque année, et auxquelles il faut répondre. Autre preuve : les voyages qu'ils effectuent aux States sur invitation de vétérans et l'accueil exceptionnel qui leur est partout réservé.